Writer, Producer, and Actor Lacy McClory on “Sins of Saints”

Lacy McClory – writer/producer/actor

NY Elite: Congratulations on being an ISC finalist. What does it mean for your work to be selected at the International Screenwriting Competition in New York?

It’s great! I feel very honored to be a part of such a wonderful contest.

NY Elite: Can you tell us about the work that you participated with at ISC? What is the story about? 

Sins of Saints is a story about forgiveness and acceptance told through the eyes of a young woman who is grappling with her sexuality, her religion and the death of her mother.

NY Elite: What scripts have you written so far? 

I have written 8 feature films and 10 short films.

NY Elite: Top 3 favorite projects that you have been involved in?

I did a short film called, Late, years back and still look at the experience fondly. It was a minimal crew and cast (by minimal I mean 3 actors, a director, dp, sound mixer, and an extra set of hands)  and we were all doing what we loved to the best of our ability with the limited resources we had. It was a brilliant lesson to learn, in that, doing what you love will bring more joy than a big paycheck. Don’t get me wrong, we all want a big paycheck, but that is not what inspires artists. That project really taught me what it feels like to be proud of what I do because it was accomplished by  perseverance and genuine love for the craft. Granted, looking back, there are so many things I’d change about that project, but the growth that came from it was immense and I’m profoundly grateful for that film. It’s what kept me moving forward, stumbling and all!

NY Elite: What type of scripts do you want to write in your career?

I don’t really stick to a specific genre. I have written stories from a modern western, to a commercial comedy, to dark dramas to thrillers. I think in order to have a good story, one that people will want to hear, characters are everything! Without good, strong, flawed characters, there is no story. Perhaps, that’s what it means to be human. To see, share, express and relate to all humanity. Good or bad.

NY Elite: As a writer, what is the most important aspect of building a character? 

Keeping it real and relatable and human.

NY Elite: What projects are you currently working on?

My film, Misdirection, has recently been optioned and I’m grateful I have a brilliant producer making that movie coming to fruition. I’m seeking funding for my film, Sins of Saints, which is much harder than I anticipated! I’m also developing a tv series and outlining a few stories running around in my mind. 

NY Elite: Do you express yourself creatively in any other ways?

That would be very inappropriate to explain! No. Kidding. All my artistic tendencies seem to fall into the filmmaking category.   I guess I need to pick up my game and find some other outlets.

NY Elite: What advice would you give to someone who wants to have a career in filmmaking/writing?

Only quitters are guaranteed to fail. 

One thought on “Writer, Producer, and Actor Lacy McClory on “Sins of Saints”

Leave a comment